Burlington County is geographically the largest of the 21 counties in New Jersey, with boundaries that run from the Delaware River on our western border, to the Atlantic Ocean along our eastern border. There are 40 municipalities which comprise Burlington County, with the Sheriff’s Department overseen by the Burlington County Board of Chosen Freeholder’s, along with the other 35 county departments that comprise county government.

Community Programs

The Burlington County Sheriff's Department is proud of the many programs and services we offer to county residents of all ages. For our youngest citizens we have a Child Safety Seat Program, Youth Police Academy, and a variety of drug education and mentoring programs.

Operations & Administration Division

The Sheriff in each county is an elected official, who serves a 3-year term of office commencing the January after the election year. The department is broken into 2 major divisions. There is our Operations Division. Within the Operations Division, the majority of our uniform officers are assigned within our courts section. The second division is our Administration division.

Warrant Unit

The Sheriff's Warrant Unit which is supervised by a detective sergeant. They oversee detectives who are responsible for locating and arresting fugitives who are wanted for justice and child support warrants. Child support warrants are issued for parents who fail to pay child support judgments, and are ordered by the court to be arrested and brought before a superior court judge.